PDA

View Full Version : advice?

Line Cowboy
03-17-2006, 08:06 PM
Just a couple ?s about this trade. First Im a 2nd step ap. Iwas just wonderin which was better Union or non union? Also how long does it usualy take to get to where a guy trusts his tools. :mad: I have been climbin about a month now but still get uneasy sometimes. I feel like my gaffs aren't in the pole good but a reset sometimes reasures.... any tips would be on open and eager ears :)

Elric
03-17-2006, 10:33 PM
Hey man...I am a newbie myself but my old man told me to go with the union and union only. Otherwise, you are on your own and you don't want to do this while working with the live conductor. As simple as that. I wouldn't expect any trust for the first year at least :)

dave948
03-18-2006, 07:48 PM
I never like to comment on the union vs. non union thing. I have worked for both and can tell you that good and bad exist in both. Pick your employer wisely your life could depend on it.

That said union does have a very good training program that is basicly standardized across the board. You may or may not get this in a non union outfit.

Comford with your tools and climbing only comes with time. The key is to never work outside your comford level no matter what it is or who tells you different. At the end of the day you are the one responsible for making sure you make it home to your family the same way you left in the morning.

Keep at it and it will come in time, but always look out for yourself and coworks.

Line Cowboy
03-18-2006, 10:20 PM
Hey thanks guys.... I do love this tarde and the brotherhood that goes with it and i do plan to keep at it. Hopefully the trust will come :)

Goathead
03-22-2006, 08:43 PM