PDA

View Full Version : Personal Voltage Detectors

Luke
08-13-2006, 11:33 AM
This is my first time on the linemans fourm. As most of you know Bob Tackett
lost his life working for Ameren in the recent storm in St. Louis. He will be greatly missed. Since that time there has been a lot of talk about personal voltage detectors. We have and are still testing one called the V-Watch. We've had some mixed reviews on this device. One of the problems with it is if a hot primary is laying on or near the ground it will not warn you. What about laying in trees or brush ?
Could someone provide me with some info. on any other detectors that you or your company may be using that will work on these downed wire situations.

BigClive
08-13-2006, 03:02 PM
They tend to work by detecting the voltage gradient in the surrounding area, so just like the little "Volt stick" testers used to trace lower voltage cables they can presumably be fooled by cables in close vicinity to a ground plane (earth!) or worse still, wet foliage screening the field from the cable.

I suppose it's a compromise. If they're too sensitive they'll false trigger on static charges and if they're too tame they won't detect cables in the foliage.

Given that a downed cable will generally track about a bit and generate a bit of heat in the local vicinity, I wonder if a set of thermal imaging binoculars would be useful for detecting a situation like this. They'd also be useful for their existing purpose of finding bad connections and taps.

That's assuming the management would actually buy them!

SouthernYankee
08-13-2006, 10:52 PM