PDA

View Full Version : so I went

44kv
08-20-2006, 02:20 PM
ok so i went to the local and they want to put me in the selcat program. I have been working for a non union contractor for over a year. they said they would give me 1500 hours for the time i worked in the field. I called the place i work for and they said i have worked 2000 hours. So i lose some hours but o'well. they told me it might take awhile to get in, has anybody heard how long it takes or what the program is like and if its anygood?

dogleg
08-20-2006, 03:07 PM
If they are going to give you 1500 hrs towards your apprenticeship that is pretty good. Alot of ape that come from non-union only get 1000. It is a 7000 hour apprenticeship which 2500 has to be hot time and you should start that at your 3rd step. The climbing school is really not as bad as some people put it 10 to 12 days which most of it your on your hooks and rest class room. Virgil Melton is not as bad as some people make him out to be, he just doesnt put up with any B.S. . The NJATC is the best apprenticship I believe you can go through. And the benifits you have being in the union is great the contractor who you work for pays for everything, family ins. and your retirements.

44kv
08-20-2006, 03:59 PM
hell yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dogleg
08-20-2006, 08:16 PM
Which Non - Union Outfit Did You Work For

44kv
08-20-2006, 09:17 PM
i still work for shaw eds in NC on the duke energy system been talking to the local 342 in winston-salem.

44kv
08-20-2006, 09:21 PM
go some where but its hard, shaw is crap dont ever work for them. they say you will get a raise then dont give it to you. been there over a year and still have not got a raise and i have worked primary and everything. and still dont make but what i started at 14.00 a hour!!!!!!!!! no vaction no ins no nothing because you have to go temp before they will hire you on. suppose to be 90 days its been over a year. still with fucking HKA they suck!!!!!!!!!

dogleg
08-20-2006, 10:06 PM