PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice

Ross 86
01-07-2007, 12:35 PM
Hey to all you lineman out there! My name is Ross, I am 20 yrs. old from south-eastern, IL and a few months ago I graduated from the Powerline program at NWICC in Sheldon, IA. I have been looking for an apprenticeship for the past few months, something non-union because I just don't know hardly anything about the Union. Haven't had any luck so far, so I am trying to find out more about the Union and try that route, I am just a good ol' farm boy and I know if someone will just give me a chance I'll be one of the hardest working, most dependable guy's they've seen. Any advice from you experienced lineman on the Union or a young guy just trying to get started in this field would be Great! :confused:

Genoin NW
01-07-2007, 12:45 PM
Welcome aboard kid. You can find the Union phone numbers on line. Call them, join one and get on the books. I've been a union member for 30 years and never regretted it. Are you willing to move away from home? If you are serious about this career you must be mobile at your age. Use all your options! There is a lot of work out there, you just have to be resourceful and find it. You'll do fine with a good attitude and work ethic. Listen, learn, respect, and ask questions. Us old duffs love to see budding talent!
This site is a great place to start. Read the posts, talk to others.

Ross 86
01-07-2007, 12:55 PM
Thank's alot, I am willing to move away from home, so what do I do after I get "On the Books" and what are the books.

Genoin NW
01-07-2007, 01:04 PM