PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice

Ross 86
01-07-2007, 12:43 PM
Hey to all you lineman out there! My name is Ross, I am 20 yrs. old from south-eastern, IL and a few months ago I graduated from the Powerline program at NWICC in Sheldon, IA. I have been looking for an apprenticeship for the past few months, something non-union because I just don't know hardly anything about the Union. Haven't had any luck so far, so I am trying to find out more about the Union and try that route, I am just a good ol' farm boy and I know if someone will just give me a chance I'll be one of the hardest working, most dependable guy's they've seen. Any advice from you experienced lineman on the Union or a young guy just trying to get started in this field would be Great! :confused:

adamr_41
01-26-2007, 11:12 PM
Your best bet would be to talk to the contractors in your area about their job openings. Contractors are always hiring, especially if you have CDL licenese and some climbing experience.

rpcenter78
01-26-2007, 11:54 PM
nppd.com job openings!

hillbilly
01-27-2007, 01:34 PM
I dont know anything about non-union,but we are really needing"good ol'farm boys"that know how to work and more important listen.I have worked from sea to shining sea,and a good worker is rare.
I cant think you would go wrong talking with the I.B.E.W. seeing as how the scale in S.IL. is 36 and change.I can only suppose that you being a young man from a farm would be pretty tickled at them numbers.I know for a fact that somewhere in the union you could get a toe hold,try calling local 702 in W.Frankfort,and at least get some info on the union.I suppose that you know IL is union and a non-union hand will be pretty hungry there

Ross 86
01-27-2007, 02:07 PM
Your best bet would be to talk to the contractors in your area about their job openings. Contractors are always hiring, especially if you have CDL licenese and some climbing experience.