PDA

View Full Version : Calnevjatc

BIGHUB
01-18-2007, 02:39 PM
I am waiting on a interview for apprenticeship into the CALNEVJATC. I'm 35 and those Algebra classes were YEARS ago. How much Algebra is used or needed? In other words...I would like to know where should I start studying...the front of the book or the back of the book? LOL. I also would like to know if I were already enrolled in a truck driving school to get my CDL if that helps my chances of getting in the program.

I'm coming from a law enforcement background so I have no experience in this or any related field. I would appreciate any tips or pointers for interviewing for this program.
Thanks in advance. Bighub.

electric squirrel
01-18-2007, 09:35 PM
Hub, you wont need that algebra everyday, but in the first and second year books it makes things ALOT easier if you know the math!! There are some formulas and some series circut stuff that if you dont have a good grasp on algebra you will be lost.My thoughts on it are that you should bone up some,I had a real hard time with math,Iam 35 yrs old and I still use my fingers to count!Most of the work we do is just simple adding, subtracting,BUT they require all apes to meet the requirements.So if you could find some highschooler to help you refresh on some basics you will be doing yourself a favor.

As far as the class a , a truck driving school enrollment wont help,if you can show them that you have already passed the class and the license is in your wallet then it matters.Do yourself another favor and go ahead and obtain the class a anyway its only for your benefit.

Iam just about to finish the calnev program, so if you want some more info get in touch with me ,maybe I can help you. E.S.:cool:

BIGHUB
01-18-2007, 10:54 PM
Hey thanks for the info E.S.

NoPotential
01-20-2007, 09:55 PM
im a first step out of mountain states not sure how calnav does it but its got to be close to the same as here.