PDA

View Full Version : Another WannaBe Needs Help...

IronLine
03-26-2007, 09:30 PM
Hey ya'll. I'm a 24 y/o Ironworker apprentice looking to break into the linemans field. I tried for about a year and a half and got shot down by my local utility company and had to fall back on the Ironworker gig to stay livin. If I never another piece of rebar again I'll die a happy man. Anyways, seems the best route to take is to sign the out of work list at my IBEW Local, and look into schooling. I live in Western Washington and have done some looking into the Northwest Linesman College, and VOLTA based out of Oregon. Advice or info/experience from anyone attending either of these schools? Any information at all would be awesome, appreciate it guys.

electric squirrel
03-26-2007, 11:24 PM
Go to the IBEW and do whatever it takes to get in their program you cant do any better or safer!!!!!!E.S.

IronLine
03-26-2007, 11:55 PM
Up here in the Northwest the only apprentice program outside of local utilities is through the Northwest Line JATC. They run the VOLTA school, so I'm gunning for that. My only worry is its about 6 weeks shorter, and costs half as much as other schools I've seen. So my main concern is whether or not its accredited and the quality of education.

PA BEN
03-27-2007, 08:55 AM
Up here in the Northwest the only apprentice program outside of local utilities is through the Northwest Line JATC. They run the VOLTA school, so I'm gunning for that. My only worry is its about 6 weeks shorter, and costs half as much as other schools I've seen. So my main concern is whether or not its accredited and the quality of education.
I've heard Volta is the Best bang for the buck. :D

IronLine
03-27-2007, 06:45 PM
Awesome news PA I sure as hell hope so. I gotta tell ya'll its scary as shit walking away from a career like I've got, but I know its sure as hell worth it.

Anar
07-10-2009, 03:43 AM
So whats up on the update. Did you go to their school?

T-Man
07-15-2009, 08:05 AM