PDA

View Full Version : Any one work for SELCAT?

YooperTurnedFloridian
12-23-2007, 12:30 PM
Hello all, just wondering if anyone has done there apprenticship through Selcat or if they are with them right now? I interviewed with them and am second on the list to get called so just waiting right now. I have a osha class and a cpr first aid class at the begining of the new year. Thanks for all the info!!

IronLine
12-23-2007, 12:54 PM
I have not gone through SELCAT but I have a couple friends who have, and without a doubt it sounds like your typical Union JATC apprenticeship, that is you WILL travel, not ALWAYS get per diem, but you will get the most well rounded training possible. From everyone I've talked to the Union JATCs offer the best apprenticeships out there, I hear the schools are run kinda like boot camp though! Be ready buddy, good luck and be safe!

Sparks33183
12-24-2007, 02:32 PM
I am not a selcat app. I am a NEAT apprentice...How much different? Prolly nothing...I honestly believe it is a great program if you are def sure about becoming a lineman....be aware there are a bunch of hot headed deep throaters out there...Think they are better then apprentices, when they all went through the same program....Some of the work is relaxed and most of it is hard work......It might seem alot at once, but once you get into the hang of things, you become use to it all...Great job, very rewarding...And most of all you meet a ton a good guys, a handful of ass lickers and life time career...Good luck man...

77liner
12-24-2007, 08:46 PM
Hey Sparks
It looks like you have everything figured out. Interesting how you can put the mouth on the journeymen when you are still wet behind the ears.
Try keeping your mouth shut and learning from the guys in the trade, it will take you a long way. This is a great trade respect it.

Swollen Tongue
12-25-2007, 09:34 PM