PDA

View Full Version : Grounds?

YooperTurnedFloridian
03-21-2008, 03:58 PM
Hello all, quick question.... I am pretty sure I know the answer but please let me know... When working on Distribution when do you put up grounds? I have been an apprentice for a while now and worked on transmission prior and we grounded everything, My GF says we don't need to ground it since we opened the jacks and no one else is working on the line but us. Please let me know........ Thanks, Chris

lewy
03-21-2008, 04:51 PM
Hello all, quick question.... I am pretty sure I know the answer but please let me know... When working on Distribution when do you put up grounds? I have been an apprentice for a while now and worked on transmission prior and we grounded everything, My GF says we don't need to ground it since we opened the jacks and no one else is working on the line but us. Please let me know........ Thanks, ChrisAnytime you are going to be hands on you should ground the line, it does not matter that you are the only 1 working on the line
Does your GF let you work on isolated lines with your leathers or rubbers, not that it really matters?
You should not be working on isolated lines even with rubber gloves, it should be grounded.

LeadHead
03-21-2008, 07:04 PM
You ground everytime your not using your gloves, and sleeves ,or gloves only depends on your rules.The grounds not only protect you from some one in your own company closing something in on you. They are also to prevent a customer from back feeding into you if their stuff isnt isolated correctly.

Special ED
03-22-2008, 02:48 AM
I would insist on grounding at the open and hanging a flag with your hold cards to increase the visibility of the grounds. That would keep you from having something closed in on you.