PDA

View Full Version : What am I?

RadonHuffer
05-17-2008, 10:54 PM
My original contact with powerlines was when I was 10 years old and throwing a piece of aluminium pipe in the air and it landed across all 3 phases and the pipe vanished forever, It was an accident.

I completed a 2 year degree in electronics engineering and hated working in a lab.

I took a job with the city of saginaw doing street lighting, Traffic signals and a little distribution and lots of broken promises. I was hooked on flying the bucket up and fixing things though.

This old Elmer named Harold Gates took me under his wing, He built lines in the pacific during WWII and made a living as a lineman ever since. At 86 years old Harold still climbed poles.Great Elemer!
He yelled at me and trained me on 40 KV. We built great things together.

Now I am working Iowa making a great living.

Still a geek at heart.

I still build gamma ray scintillators and lucas cell type radon gas detectors in my basement, But my heart and soul are outdoors with the crew.

I may be teaching electrical math at the local college this winter again instead of being out side.

So am I a lineman?

BigClive
05-18-2008, 08:26 AM
Aha! That explains the Radon bit. From that description you just sound like a technically versatile dude.

My own working year combines high altitude outdoor electrical work, workshop work and teaching basic electronics and helping design students with their technical projects. It's nice to be able to do a diverse range of work instead of being tied to the one job all the time.

I think there are a few loose technological canons on this forum.

So what's your fascination with scintillators?

topgroove
05-18-2008, 01:31 PM
hey bro, you sound like a lineman to me.teach me how to build 5kw hydrogen fuel cell and i'll tell you anything you want to know about linework.

RadonHuffer
05-19-2008, 10:29 PM