PDA

View Full Version : Apprentice with Florida Power & Light

brittrich
07-12-2008, 09:59 AM
I'm an apprentice with FP&L, soon to finish and top out (Sept/Oct '08)

Our training is a combination of school instruction and field work at a service center. The training is excellent, and although I know I'll still have tons more to learn after becoming a journeyman, I feel really prepared and am very confident that I'll be able to perform my job competently and safely, overhead and underground (URD)

Working in South Florida, (Miami) is exciting, challenging and rewarding. We have a very diverse culture here; linemen from Cuba, Jamaica, Canada, Caucasions and African Americans, just to name a few.

Thanks to our infamous summer lightning storms and the ever popular hurricane season, I believe out work and work practices are top notch.

So, that's my two cents in a nutshell about working with FP&L. An outstanding company, and I'm proud to be a part of the work force that's providing certainty in delivery to customers all throughout the Sunshine State!

-- Rich

(This post is in response to someone who was asking about the apprenticeship here at Florida Power & Light)

Doggboi
07-12-2008, 11:22 PM
brit , I gotta tell ya.. you are the first person I have ever seen that had something good to say about FP&L. I grew up about 4 hours north of you on I-95 and much like the southern company , I had numerous apps in with them but never heard a thing. No Call no contact. As a customers opinion, it never felt like anyone was close enough. Minimum outages were 4 hours.

Glad you found something you love, and that you are happy where you are.

Good luck to you, stay safe, and hope you dodge those 'canes ( and not the U of M cheerleader variety )

LIGHTSOUT
07-24-2008, 11:15 PM
THAT RESPONSE ABOUT BEING AN APRENTICE AT FP& L IS A BIT RICH, PUT YOUR HI BOOTS ON. THE TRUTH COULD BE VERY DIFFERENT FROM THE PICTURE THIS PERSON IS PAINTING. Beware!!

brittrich
08-06-2008, 07:30 PM