PDA

View Full Version : Missouri Valley? Pros & Cons

MN-JDS
10-06-2008, 08:16 PM
I have just been called by Missouri Valley and was told I would attend climbing school on Nov. 10-14th. I will start work for Donovon on Oct.20th and work for 3 weeks before going to climbing school. Is there anyone out there that can tell me some things good or bad (if any) about this approach to becoming a lineman? A little history about myself. I am 31. I have a degree in robotics and have worked for a automated packaging machinery builder for 10 years and handed in my 2 week notice to pursue this dream. Thanks for any info you guys may have.

swetngblts
10-09-2008, 08:52 PM
Congrats! on making it that far. Pass the climbing class and you'll be indentured into their program.

I'm considering movalley, how long was the process for you from when you turned in your application, interviewed, and heard back from them?

What local are you out of?

MN-JDS
10-09-2008, 11:34 PM
I believe I turned in my app in late July of 07. I interviewed in Nov. and was pretty low on the list several times, but was bumped. I made it to number 3 twice and then I got the call two weeks ago tomorrow. It took close to one year from interview to hire, but I can't complain. I went through orientation this morning with Donovan Construction of St. Paul, MN. I am out of Local 160 in Minneapolis, MN. I will be heading down to Indianola, IA on Nov. 10th-14th. and everything should work out well. I have no regrets and looking forward to the next few months. Everything I have heard so far about MO Valley is all good and sounds like the way to go. So give it a whirl and good luck.

swetngblts
10-10-2008, 06:42 AM
Good luck to you. That's a great opportunity to have. Take full advantage of it.

MN-JDS
10-10-2008, 08:02 AM
Thanks much and I will keep you posted on my progress. It sure is a hell of an opportunity and from here on out it will be nothing but 110% for the boys at Donovan.

2WDKING
10-15-2008, 03:15 PM