PDA

View Full Version : Apprenticeship Questions????

mike777
10-10-2008, 06:32 PM
I'm 28 and I want to become a lineman. I have no experience in the field but it's something I've researched and feel that I would do well in & enjoy.

I've noticed there are a lot of schools out there that one can pay for training, and then there are places like SELCAT in GA that will hook you up with a company and give you on the job paid training, while going through their 7000hr apprenticeship program... I want to know which is the best choice? Do you need a degree from a college to get promoted?

Also, I know there are “high line man” that travel around the country and then there are guys that work for the local city power companies... I keep reading about power companies laying off workers, but yet I see posts saying there is a need for workers... is there a future & job security in the industry? Is there a difference in pay between the guys that work for the city and the guys that travel around? How much could I expect to make as an apprentice and journey man? Are there benefits?

Thanks for your responses

localmotion
10-10-2008, 08:06 PM
look up a program called NEAT, i was looking into that program until i got hooked up with the company im now going thru an apprenticeship learning program, they are pretty solid and my friends brother went thru the neat program and it worked for him pretty well

electric squirrel
10-10-2008, 08:25 PM
I was working on a cattle ranch breaking horses,working 20 hour days for $1200 a month and all the food me and my horses could eat.I only had a high school education,a pick up and what belongings I could fit in the back seat.