Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Gaffs,Spikes??

Question Gaffs,Spikes??

Featured Sponsor

Well I recieved a call this morning from a recruitment agency in Canada in reguards to working for BC Hydro. I was honest and up front when in saying I have no experience in climbing with spikes or gaffs (hope this is the right terms)
    Is there any tips on using these, my experience is limited to seeing tree loppers use them.

You're kidding, right???

If not you're a fatlity waiting to happen!!
    Have Trampbag, Will Travel

Everyone who comes here brings a little joy.

Some when they come in. Others when they leave.

I learned when I was 25 and it was and still is sometimes hard on the body(28 now). You'd be lucky if you are still young and your body can take a bit of a beating. Although, there were some 40 yr. olds that made it through climbing school with me.

For advice, always keep one leg locked when climbing or working. Look up so you don't climb off the top of the pole or up into some hot shit. Don't climb the poles with the red markers/ribbons on them.
    I may be stupid, but at least I'm ugly

I'm in Australia Swampy we don't got no soft wood poles!! All hardwood mate flat out flogging a nail in ( ok over exaggerated a bit) let alone hooks. We have pole steps, platforms and elevated platform vehicle's (bucket trucks). Guess you could say we are a little spoilt.

Quote Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
    I'm in Australia Swampy we don't got no soft wood poles!! All hardwood mate flat out flogging a nail in ( ok over exaggerated a bit) let alone hooks. We have pole steps, platforms and elevated platform vehicle's (bucket trucks). Guess you could say we are a little spoilt.
    While over in Oz Squizzy showed me a chunk of a typical pole and it was as hard as rock. It actually rang when hit with a hammer. I guess that's why the tend to use ladders over there for the less accessible poles.

Quote Originally Posted by Swamprat View Post