PDA

View Full Version : couple OSHA questions for ya

in the bucket
08-11-2013, 02:00 PM
I work as a lineman for a small municipal electrical utility. Let's call it Maybury. Well, the world around Maybury evolved, and this little electric utility did not. I am the newest guy here, I am a master electrician who was self employed for most of my 30 year career in industrial work. I am not new to line work, and I am proficient in the maintenance of our 4 kv distro. Modern safety is a bit lacking here, there was no incident, but we are under a voluntary osha audit. You have to read between the lines here, this is a good thing.

1) The two man rule on working live primary. One single bucket is ok as long as there is a second qualified lineman on the ground. The lineman on the ground needs to be current in pole top rescue, bucket rescue and CPR correct? If one guy is an apprentice he can be either in the air or on the ground?

2) Do all lineman have to be certified in pole top rescue even if they exclusively work out of a bucket? I am guessing yes on this.

3) When are you guys using an observer? We are limited to replacing poles, pole transfers, replacing cutouts, transformers and arrestors, cross arms etc. We are not involved in too much construction. 90% of our overhead is single conductors on cross arms, some hendricks feeders and all secondaries, single conductors on racks.

i anticipate some rush certification for us. We are a municipal union not IBEW and our training has to be outsourced. I was appointed as a department rep to a newly formed and desperately needed safety committee a few weeks back. This is a great place to work but badly managed right now. I hope to be a part of turning that around.

The first item on my list is to get the OSHA 10 ED&T for all of us.

I've been reading this forum for years and thank all the guys for these posts.

US & CA Tramp
08-11-2013, 06:17 PM