PDA

View Full Version : Custom lineman knife questions

jlaurio
12-30-2014, 12:45 PM
Hello all! I am not a lineman, but a good friend of mine is and just started his first job. Im an amateur knife maker and would like to make him a knife as a gift and need ideas on the design. So, what do you all look for in a knife? Foldable or fixed blade? Hawk beak or straight edge? Hanging ring a plus or minus? basically, if you could have a knife custom made for you what features would you like to see? Many thanks for all you guys do!

Pootnaigle
12-30-2014, 03:29 PM
Definately a hawk bill preferebly with a half circle notch on the back of the blade and a handle thats long and easy to grip in rubber gloves

Lineman North Florida
12-30-2014, 04:06 PM
I still like a folding hawkbill with a hanging ring for my belt, I like being able to have it closed when I don't need it.

jlaurio
12-30-2014, 06:16 PM
Thanks for the responses! So, definitely a hawk bill shape with a notch in the back (for cleaning/scraping I'm assuming). Is there anything that you guys feel could be improved upon, to make your blades more useful? I'm considering including some kind of measurement markings that are either on the blade or handle for quick rough measurements. Thanks again!

reppy007
12-30-2014, 10:33 PM
A personalized name would be cool too....I had one for years that I found in a urd transformer....and one of my closest friends noticed it one day .....turned out to be his initials....I never noticed cause it had a million other marks.

Old Line Dog
12-30-2014, 10:55 PM
Thanks for the responses! So, definitely a hawk bill shape with a notch in the back (for cleaning/scraping I'm assuming). Is there anything that you guys feel could be improved upon, to make your blades more useful? I'm considering including some kind of measurement markings that are either on the blade or handle for quick rough measurements. Thanks again!