PDA

View Full Version : Disasters and Linepersons

EduardoRunte
12-01-2005, 09:29 AM
My name is Eduardo Runte and I am a sociology graduate student at the University of New Brunswick, Canada. I am writing a thesis about linepersons (linemen and linewomen) and disasters.

Every year, many types of events cause damage to power transmission and distribution networks. Most of them are not special at all and they can be thought of as routine situations.

But at times, something larger happens: several people are left in the dark and in the cold; the damage to the network is extensive; many linepersons are dispatched to the field, to places far away from home, for days or weeks. This is not an ordinary trouble call, it is a disaster. Even the most experienced lineperson will always remember the worst disaster he or she has responded to.

If you are a lineperson and you have worked during a disaster, I want to hear from you! Just write down your story and post it right here in this forum or send it to my e-mail address (efarunte@gmail.com). You can include as many details and make it as long as you want – take your time! It is your story and you can tell it the way you want!

When you send your story, you do not have to say your real name, but please include: how long you have been a lineperson, where and when the disaster happened. If you want more information about this research, including a statement of ethics and confidentiality, please visit my website at www.unbf.ca/arts/Soci/linepersons .

Thanks a lot for your time, and if you have any questions, please send me a private message or an e-mail.

Eduardo Runte
efarunte@gmail.com

edski104
12-02-2005, 05:47 PM