PDA

View Full Version : Guess Who Got Signed Off?

Squizzy
07-02-2006, 08:17 AM
Well it finally happened I have had the last of my paperwork signed off so now i am a linesman/cable splicer as well. I am also an electrician (fitter/mechanic) i don't think i want to do any more apprentiships 2 is enough for now.....

old lineman
07-02-2006, 11:58 AM
Well it finally happened I have had the last of my paperwork signed off so now i am a linesman/cable splicer as well. I am also an electrician (fitter/mechanic) i don't think i want to do any more apprentiships 2 is enough for now.....

Congratulations Squizzy,
We have a saying over here "Jack of all trades, master of none", I tend to agree with you in todays hectic lifestyle going through two apprenticeships is enough.
You need time to smell the roses.
Your far more capable than the majority but the learning never ends.
Keep your ears to the tracks and your eyes wide open. Now that you have the basics it's time to fine tune.
Watch the old timers and use them to sort out what to do and what not to do.
Best of luck in all of your work and hobbies. How's your bird business?
The Old Lineman

BigClive
07-02-2006, 03:30 PM

So if you originally served your time as an electrician before later deciding to serve another apprenticeship as a lineman, how did you handle going back down the wages scale to being on apprentice rates again? (I bet they were a LOT higher than the first time round!)

And what made you want to do linework instead of standard electrical work?

Does this mean you're part broad back and part narrow back now? :)

Squizzy
07-02-2006, 10:32 PM
Hi Guys,