PDA

View Full Version : Understanding an Open-Delta Bank

fio1022
07-07-2006, 05:59 PM
Hi all,
I don't know where else to ask this question and I have been trying to find the answer for a while now(no one seems to know for sure).
I am an apprentice lineman for my local utility company and I'm trying to understand how an open delta bank provides TRUE three phase power.
A regular wye or closed delta bank has three transformers with three phases feeding the primary side, 3 phases in 3 phases out(3 different phase angles).An open delta only has two transformers with two primary feeds.2 phases in 3 out?I don't get it.
Is an open delta bank secondary supplying true three phase power(120 degree phase shift)or is it two phases compensating for the lack of a third.
Just wondering if I am far off track on my thinking...
Any information is appreciated.

dbrown20
07-07-2006, 08:20 PM
Very good question. It is a little bit out of the expertise of the average lineman. Probably more in the realm of a good Electrical engineer. Usually with something of this sort I try to find a good reference book that I can hopefully understand. Usually the math required in things of this nature are a little bit beyond my ken.

The following are some excerps from a publication from GE that I picked up one place where I worked. It is a manual that is more geared toward Power Transformers or as some refer to them Sub Station Transformers. However the principles still hold true I'm sure. With this and what little I know maybe you can get a little better understanding. Probably someone else will chime in with some more info also.

Here's the GE stuff. " Although this connection delivers three-phase currents which are approximately symmetrical to a three-phase symetrical load, the currents flowing in the high voltage circuit are not equal nor are they 120 degrees apart.