PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Advice

Bandaid 33
07-12-2006, 01:36 PM
Dear Folks:

I'm new here and I'm not in the lineman trade. However, I do have about 30 years in heavy construction safety. I was a 3rd generation operating engineer for a union outfit (loaders, dozers, scrapers and blades), was a paramedic along the way and ended up working safety on many big water and transportation projects in the West. I think at our peak, my outfit had about $450 million worth of heavy work underway at one time in 7 or 8 states.

I now work as a safety consultant for some large contractors on the west coast. For some reason, this year has been "power line year" as I have just been called in to assist on my 4th power line strike since the first of this year.
Three of the accidents were concrete pumps and the fourth was a crane. The first was a fatal and the most recent put 4 guys in the hospital.

I'm very familiar with all the practices and preventative measures that can and should be taken to prevent such accidents and as I told a group of hands the other day, there is no case in recorded history where a power line reached out and grabbed a concrete pump boom or crane. These accidents are 100% preventable, 100% of the time. Power lines don't cause accidents; people who put things into power lines do.

Anyway I have a few questions for you guys here.

Back when we were building the Central Arizona Project canal and later building many of the major freeways in Phoenix, we often were able to arrange for SRP or APS to bring a crew out to hang what I called "distance markers" from their lines where we had a potential crane/power line conflict. They were an orange non-conductive plastic marker that looked like a trapeze bar that hung from a plastic chain about 10 ft or more from the line.