PDA

View Full Version : Huge Wanna Be!!!!!!!

heescha
09-22-2008, 11:20 PM
I am a student at NDSU (majoring in construction engineering) and i am a huge wanna be high power lineman. I worked for the Watertown, SD Municiple utilities last summer and i was a power lineman assistant and i fell in love with all you guy's job. (even though i don't know the half of everything you all have to do). I'm in a huge debate over everything though...to be honest i'll put it all straight forward.

i'm going to school to be a construction engineer...they START out of college anywhere from $60,000 to $80,000. I love construction, i love engineering...but my heart truly feels like i want to be a power lineman (especially a heli lineman).

but, i'm engaged to a wonderful woman who i have been dating for 3 years and we will be getting married (sometime) soon. She has no desire to move colleges since she is just two years from graduating with her landscape architecture degree.

there are NO schools around fargo, nd or watertown, sd that i have found....

WHAT DO I DO!?!?!?!??!?!

-heescha

wtdoor67
09-23-2008, 09:49 AM
First just relax and look at things objectively. An engineering degree is a wonderful thing to have. Get it first and then see what you think. If then you still want to pursue lineman training then try it.

First off going to a school and paying for lineman training isn't the best way to go at it. Going to work for an entity as an apprentice and getting paid while you actually do the work is the smartest thing. It seems some people go to linemen schools and it works out for them but I think it is economically impractical.

Doing helicopter work is a very small segment of linework and probably should only be pursued after reaching Journeyman status. It's a little similar to being a rodeo rider but not being a cowboy. You can perform in one area but you're not exposed to the entire spectrum.