PDA

View Full Version : Whats the real right path?

johnciv6
07-25-2009, 03:40 PM
Ive been accepted to the next january class at northwest lineman college. It seems like a smart thing to do, but I keep hearing this thing with dont waste your money get paid as you learn? They make it seem like anyone can get in to whatever it is? Is it really that easy or is getting your cdl, first aid, and climbing experience worth the money at college? Ive always been under the impression that just going for the apprenticeship right off the bat was hard to do, but having that cdl, first, aid, and schooling gives you a big advantage? Am I wrong?

johnciv6
07-25-2009, 05:21 PM
oh and also, since my post ive been doing some searching on the njatc website. Is it best to send in applications to as many njatc training centers as possible and go though each of there proceses?

drawmonster
07-26-2009, 02:01 AM
I was a police officer with no experience. I interviewed with ALBAT through my local union. There were tons of people that had spent money on lineman school and stuff like that. I got ranked number 3, and about 8 months later was one of 3 people to get hired. Been at it for a couple weeks now.

From what my crew and many other lineman have said - Don't waste your money.

Now, if you for some reason think you won't do well at the interview or something, then it might be worth it I guess.

johnciv6
07-26-2009, 02:08 AM
I was a little hesitant to think that was the right way tell i started researching the jatc website. So is it smart to apply for as many as possible and do interviews with multiple ones rather then just the closest one?

scratchpad
07-26-2009, 11:15 AM