PDA

View Full Version : Question about joining a union before experience.

wantafastz28
09-20-2010, 03:47 PM
I'm was told it would be a good choice to sign up for an ibew union in my area and start signing the books even though i have no prior experience. If I was to do this, am i expecting for them to calling me for groundman/grunt work or groundman work as the beginning of an apprenticeship? Can't seem to get a straight answer. Desperate to get into the line of work lol. Not sure if this goes in the newbie section or union related question.

Thanks in advance,
Mike

BT1101
09-20-2010, 04:23 PM
if you signed the books you would be on book 4, so all the people on books 1, 2, and 3 will be called before you. Groundman is not the start of an apprenticeship, it dose how ever get you experience so when you do decide to apply for an apprenticeship you will be a more desirable cantidate for the position.

wantafastz28
09-20-2010, 05:34 PM
if you signed the books you would be on book 4, so all the people on books 1, 2, and 3 will be called before you. Groundman is not the start of an apprenticeship, it dose how ever get you experience so when you do decide to apply for an apprenticeship you will be a more desirable cantidate for the position.

Thanks BT, i figured I'd be on the bottom of the totem pole when signing them, but gotta start somewhere i guess lol.

BT1101
09-20-2010, 09:46 PM
exactly, and while you wait you can look into apprenticeship on the NJATC website.

wantafastz28
09-20-2010, 09:57 PM
exactly, and while you wait you can look into apprenticeship on the NJATC website.

Already in the process... such a bummer to hear i might been waiting years to get a chance to be able to prove myself... Thanks again. :)

Highplains Drifter
09-21-2010, 07:36 AM