PDA

View Full Version : question about capacitor bank.

Boots 211
12-24-2010, 12:11 AM
I am a electrician, the other morning a nursing home I work at called with complaints of electrical problems through out facility. I checked incoming voltage and found 114/116/117 pahse to n. 200v ph/ph. The system is a 120/208 wye. Outside a noticed a fuse hanging on the 3ph capacitor bank on pole. I beleive the primary voltage is 12kv. My question is if one of the capacitor was off would that affect the voltage causing a low voltage problem in complex? I need a quick lesson on capacitors.

wtdoor67
12-24-2010, 09:15 AM
When checked at the meter point you were allowed 5% increase or decrease over the nominal voltage. So for 120/208 you would be allowed 114/198 for your low reading and of course 126/ 228 for your highest reading. Anything below or above these readings would be considered outside the norm.

However spot checking doesn't always result in good readings because at the moment you checked it things might have been okay. Your readings sound within the limits to me.

Ask the power co. to set a recording volt meter for a few days readings and then you can look at the charts and tell if there's a problem. Also check other locations on the same transformer if possible or other close by locations.

One fuse blown on a nearby cap bank will sometimes cause imbalance. Also check further down stream on the customers wiring and compare to the incoming readings.

T-Man
12-24-2010, 09:35 AM
That cap bank with the blown fuse could be the problem depending what part of the day you checked. If there are a lot of industrial customers in the area and they are up and running they will cause a drop in voltage due to the induction they are crearting, If the bank comes in with all three phases the capacitance will compensate and bring the voltage and the wattage in line.