PDA

View Full Version : Volt meter Question

King
04-30-2011, 04:11 PM
Here is my scenerio. I am a Line and Service tech and was going to energize a suspect piece of under ground secondary wire. I megged the cable with a dynatel and it bled out at 700k volts which to me means the cable has some small abrasions but is in good enough shape to carry current. I then took my fluke 12b VOM before energizing the wire and checked contuinity and all 3 wires showed clear. Then set the meter on Volts and it read back red lead on energized phase and black lead to L1-120 volts then L2- 120 volts, and then Neutral 122 volts. My first thought is L1 or L2 is grounded or is there that much resistance in this 100' of 4/0 aluminum connected to 140' #2 aluminum and 40' of 1/0 copper. (the service wire is isolated in the meter base with meter pulled) I then got another VOM a Fluke 116 and it showed the same with the dial on the V- volt setting. I then switched the Volt meter (both of them) to the Auto-V LOz setting which automaticly checks volts, or ohms and it showed on both meters energized phase to new wire 5volts on L1, 5volts on L2, and 122 volts phase to neutral. This is more of what I was expecting on the Volt function. My question is why the VOM did not show this on the Voltage setting? Any enlightment is welcomed.

Pootnaigle
04-30-2011, 07:30 PM
If I understand right you were measuring from one phase of the old to a like phase of the new and read a 5 volt difference on each. That to me would suggest the presence of resistance in the unenergized wire.

wtdoor67
04-30-2011, 10:36 PM
You overexplained it. Smoke test it.

King
05-01-2011, 06:46 PM
If I understand right you were measuring from one phase of the old to a like phase of the new and read a 5 volt difference on each. That to me would suggest the presence of resistance in the unenergized wire.