PDA

View Full Version : Class 3 Rubber Gloves

metroline79
11-19-2011, 09:30 PM
Im new to doing hot work but noticed all my Journeyman have these class 3 gloves that can pick up washers laying at the bottom of a bucket. My class 3's are much stiffer. Anyone know how I can get them loosened up in a short time. I have size 10 rubbers and put a size 9 leather protector on them and drenched in water and tried to work with them at home. Doesnt seem to be working. Is this something that just takes time?

Pootnaigle
11-19-2011, 10:09 PM
Ummmmmmmm I kinda doubt yer gloves will ever get any more pliable, If they do dont wear em kause sumpins wrong with em. The difference is them guys been wearin em for years and have learned to manipulate them. I wud try a size larger protector than what yer usin

topgroove
11-19-2011, 11:34 PM
Listen to poot, he's right.

The only way to get used to them is to work in your gloves and sleeves every day for hours and hours day after day in all kinds of weather.

Your gonna spend countless hours in scorching 90 degree heat, and if you live up north, day after day of numbing cold in the winter.

You'll see, at some point in your career you'll actually feel strange up in the air without your gloves.

I have to admitt .... there is a huge difference between class two's and three's

lewy
11-20-2011, 07:28 AM
I have only class 2 & 4 but, like the other guys said start with a larger set of covers & yes only experience is going to make it easier, also watch how they handle things & pass stuff to each other. Do you also have class 2 or only 3? If you have both know your rules as to when you have to wear your 3s. We are a ground to ground utility, but the only time I wear my class 4s is when I am actually going to be hands on on our 27.6 kv, if I am climbing or am within my minimum clearances doing stick work on 44 kv I will wear my class 2s & of course if everything is grounded I will wear my leathers.

T-Man
11-20-2011, 07:51 AM