Default Working with Good men

Featured Sponsor

Building 345 switches that I have never built before. My groundsman knows a 1000 times more than I do, because he built a 1000. My first day was a mess, frustrated that I wasn't at the ability or knowledge of the guys that I was working with. I was embarrassingly slow and not knowing the details. Took us half a day to do one my first day. Then the next day it went do smooth cause I asked a lot of questions and learned from my mistakes. I never was one who thought I was better because I have higher classification and better pay. Why I am learning so quickly is my groundsman most, foreman and fellow lineman is training me, because I am not a ****. I have worked with career groundsman a lot. The guys with ten or twenty years know more than green lineman. I think the quality of not being a **** will make more knowledgeable lineman. I don't think many people I have met would have the humility to learn because they know it all. And that's sad.

When I started in to the trade I worked with a couple of rbd operators that knew how to set poles and rig better than most lineman I have met. I do not judge a fella by is pay scale or title. You never know what knowledge a fella has stored away. I do watch how fellas work and some could use some coaching and get upset if you try, those fellas I back away from. There are so many different aspects to this trade that I would be surprised to find someone that has truly seen it all. Not very many days go by that I don't learn , or see, something new!

You are a good man yourself,Bobbo.Most guys wouldn't admit their shortcomings.The longest journey starts with the first step,you have taken yours!

Cool