1. Default PG&E ALP and interview

Featured Sponsor

I'm seeking some advice on the Alp test as well as the interview PG&E conducts for pre apprentice lineman. What kind of questions do they ask for the interview? And how soon after the interview do you know if you have been selected? I am a NLC grad with 5 months of experience being a ground hand for building transmission line and 5 months of building distribution line (minimal hot work experience). All the work I have done has been for general contractors. While I Enjoy my job as now a lot I'm looking to get into the union. Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Default PALW interview

The ALP test is just to make sure you can follow directions and work at heights. There is a test preparation guide online. The following directions test failed a few guys out. Take your time and ask them to repeat the instructions if you aren't clear. This ain't NLC, you aren't being timed. This is important to remember especially if you are offered the job and start your basic climbing class.

You will have two interviews with two panels of interviewers, one is from the electric department and the other is from HR. They will ask you 3 questions in each interview and expect you to answer with the STAR method. Look it up and practice. Basically you want to tie everything back to safety. Having stories thought up before you go in will help you immensely. They will ask you when you saw something unsafe how did you respond, what you did when you had a problem with a coworker, one about diversity, that's really all I can remember.