1. Default Best places to work

Featured Sponsor

I'm a 3rd year apprentice working for a small muni in California. I'm thinking about leaving my company once I top out in search of more experience and better opportunities. Does anyone have some suggestions for companies to consider? If so, what are the pluses and negative? Thanks

2. Default More info

All I'm hoping to get out of this posting is some feedback on other linemans experiences with companies they've worked with, preferably in California since that's where I'm at. This would be a way to give me and other lineworkers a heads up when considering companies to work for. The info I'm interested in would be things like- Wages, benefits (healthcare, retirement), OT availabilty, do they rubber glove?, do they have any transmission work? The voltages in their system.

Can't give you any Calif. infor but I'll give you some general info. Most IOU's will have fairly high transmission voltages. I've only worked for 4 but the voltage ranged from 500 KV on down. Rubber gloves up to 5 KV with one and rubber gloves to 15 KV with the rest.

Some have only certain crews that work on Transmission lines and some do it all.

There's lots of Calif. guys on here that'll give you all the scoop.

Most Munis and REC's won't have hardly any Transmission voltages, yet I know of one Muni. that has 345 KV and an REC that has 230 KV. It's a big mishmash in the USA.

Sometimes you can contact the local and they'll mail you a copy of their agreement. It'll give you some good info.

4. Default

If your union and pretty good at what you do, trampin in the midwest pays pretty good. Illinois-Missouri. JF Electric, Asplundh, Parr, LE Meyers. Travel Ticket to IBEW 2, 702, 309, or 51. Stay away from the utility, they dont treat thier people as well as they treat thier contractors.

5. Default

Thanks for the replies.

Default Pacific Gas & Electric