Thread: Naltc Schooling

1. Default Naltc Schooling

Featured Sponsor

Hi everyone, my name is James Q. First post but a long time reader of this Forum. A little bit of background, I am 21 I have my own house along with my girlfriend and my 3 year old daughter. I have been applying for Ameren for about two years for just about anything I can get, but no luck. My mom actually knows the president of Ameren and I have talked to him about a job, but he is really stuck up and just says keep trying. I sure he could get me a job if he wanted to, but o well. I am trying to become a lineman for Ameren but as of right now there is no movement in Missouri. I have signed the booked all around me and haven't heard anything. So I am now going to the next step on going to line school. I have talked to the Hr ladies at Ameren and they said school or work experience will help out a lot with getting a job. So I tried Sltc but there class was full and if u couldn't tell I am an impatience kind of guy so, I did some more looking around and found Naltc in Tn. It is closer than the school in Georgia so that was a plus, but it is a lot smaller school. So I was just wondering if anyone else heard anything about Naltc school or anyone been there. I have already enrolled for this Fall semester in August. I am just trying to get some more info about the school if anyone knows anything. I have a buddy that is going to lend me all his gear except his boots. Which is another thing I wanna ask. I am looking at the wesco 9716s, what is everyone opinion on these boots. I really don't want 16" boots but I talked to the teacher at Naltc and he said he recommends them for starting out, then I can get them cut down, which is fine. Sorry this is kind of long but I am really nervous because it is a big change and a lot of money but I am ready for it. So all in all I just seeing if anyone has been to the school or heard anything about it and can give me some advice. It is great to finally say Hi to everyo