Default Catch That Apprentice!

Featured Sponsor

I miss Charlie Hill. Charlie Hill was a lineman when I was an apprentice back in Memphis in 1987. We both worked for Dillard Smith.

Charlie was about sixty years old. He was over weight, balding and he talked a bit strangely. He had a large red nose from drinking too much and he lived in a camper mounted on the back of a pickup truck and parked at the yard with an extension cord ran from the office to his rig. (No water. Charlie smelled a bit.)

Rumor was, years before, Charlie had been drinking and driving and got into a car crash with his wife and son in the car and his wife and son had died. It was hard to tell if he was really all there.

Charlie loved to "cut cards". Cutting cards is where you shuffle a deck of cards and you cut the deck and show the card where it was cut. High card wins. My brother and I would team up cutting cards against Charlie (I know, that wasn't fair.) but Charlie had the luck of the angels. He'd win way more times than he'd lose. He'd cut cards for any amount. $100 didn't bother him a bit. He once showed us eight uncashed paychecks he had stashed in his wallet.

Charlie was a tough old f#rt. A groundman was working with him. Charlie was on the pole making sure the ground connection was good. The groundman had megged out the ground wire and had sleeved it and had just covered the hole at the bottom of the pole. He tamped the dirt twice with the back of the shovel, said "Okay Charlie... hit the ground!", turned, took two steps and heard a thump. Charlie had cut out from about twenty feet and hit the ground all right... "That hurt Bubba." But he was okay. Luck of the angels.

Charlie was on a pole and had climbed above the two crossarms that were bolted together as a bandaid for the break at the pole. He cut out, turned sideways and landed on the top of the crossarm on his side. He got his hooks back in and said "That hurt Bubba."